What I’m reading

If you’re also following me on Goodreads, you know that I generally have  anywhere from three to seven books in progress.  I am a little embarassed to say I mislaid my copy of Les Miserables during a move and when I got it back, the bookmark was gone. I have no clue where I was in the book. It was about 70-80% of the way through, but I can’t for the life of me find where the prose is familiar and where it is new. I think I will start it over, eventually. Meanwhile, sweetie, you were right. I should have bought the abridged edition.

My love of mysteries and my love of fantasy & science fiction go hand in hand. Sometimes you can get some great combinations of each–Asimov’s Elijah Bailey books, Jim Butcher’s Harry Dresden, Mike Resnick’s John Justin Mallory. 

I finished Sabrina Chase’s The Last Mage Guardian last night and immediately went back to her Amazon page to find something else she’d written. The characters were believable–I would have happily sat down and had a beer with most of the characters. The protagonist, Ardhuinn takes a bit of reading to get to know. It takes much of the tale to get her to realize her own worth, and I found the development made me like her quite a bit.  Pick it up. I think there will be a sequel or two, at least I hope so.

Thanks to my friend Sarah, I am hooked on John Burdette’s Sonchai Jitpleecheep novels, and the latest one, Vulture Peak, is shaping up to be fantastic. If you’re not familiar with the series, Sonchai is the last honest cop in Bangkok. Pick up Bangkok 8 in your format of choice, and you will be plunged deep into the sex, seediness and corruption that is the city. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

