Before I get in…

Before I get into today’s post, I’m going to take a few pages from our friends at dictionary.com

re·write

[v. ree-rahyt; n. ree-rahyt]  verb,-wrote, -writ·ten, -writ·ing, noun

verb (used with object)

1.to write  in a different form or manner; revise: to rewrite theentire book.
2.to write  again.
3.to write  (news submitted by a reporter) for inclusion in anewspaper.

re·vise

[ri-vahyz]   verb, -vised, -vis·ing,noun

verb (used with object)

1.to amend or alter: to revise one’s opinion.
2.to alter something already written or printed, in order to make corrections, improve, or update: to revise a manuscript.
3.British . to review (previously studied materials) inpreparation for an examination.

ed·it   [ed-it]

verb (used with object)

1.to supervise or direct the preparation of (a newspaper,magazine, book, etc.); serve as editor  of; direct the editorial  policies of.
2. to collect, prepare, and arrange (materials) for publication.
3.to revise or correct, as a manuscript.
4.

to expunge; eliminate (often followed by out ): The author hasedited out all references to his own family.
5.to add (usually followed by in ).
Bloody Murder #2 has gone through all of the above and I’m still nowhere near done. When I wrote the original draft, there was a different dead body and the killer made themselves too suspicious much too early in the story. So much so that the ending did not surprise any of my beta readers. Bad mystery writer! No wine!
So there came the rewrite. I actually printed out all 60,000 words and retyped everything from scratch. I also did some more editing and revision as I went along and ended up with closer to 40K words. Then I gave it to a beta reader and held my breath. It came back with some edits, which I just finished this week.
Today began more revising. A adjective here, an adverb there, what’s a good name for a band? I’m really starting to feel the story come together. It’s fun, but it’s very intense work and I tend to do it in small chunks.
Still need a name for James’ band. Poor guy goes through bands almost as quickly as he does girlfriends. He’ll have a new one in the next book, but she doesn’t play a big part in this story. Later stories, I make no promises other than she does not turn out to be a hardened criminal and she will not not try to kill anyone.
Thank you for reading. I’m going to grab a beverage and get back to work.
Leave a comment

February 25, 2012 · 8:21 pm

Leave a Reply

