I love a professional wiseass (This month’s Indie Find)

Unfortunately, I don’t get to BE a professional wiseass in my day job and I try to avoid it during my online classroom activities, but I can write about them. And on a good day, there’s a new one to read.

My friend Opal, aka the akamai reader suggested I take a look at Chris Strange’s book, The Man Who Crossed WorldsShe also mentioned that the author gives a hat tip to Jim Butcher’s The Dresdent Files. So I gave it a shot.

Bluegate is a city that is on the last legs of a downward spiral. Our hero, one Miles Franco, has a special talent of being able to tunnel through time and space to another world, one known as Heaven where the rules of our petty earthbound physics simply don’t apply. Reality is bendable, twistable, you can make a pretzel out of it. It’s populated by a humanoid race called the Vei, and Miles makes an off-the-books living occasionally smuggling Vei to earth.

There are gangsters, good cops, innocents, plots, counterpolots, implied romances, conspiracies, a great deal of wiseassery and the trials and tribulations of a smart and talented guy who got in over his head when he tries to do the right thing. I don’t want to say more because I’ll spoil the plot, but if you’re at all an urban fantasy person (and especially if you’re right tired of vampires), pick it up. It’s a hell of a ride.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “I love a professional wiseass (This month’s Indie Find)

  1. I’m so glad you liked it! I did an author interview with him and he’s one cool dude.

Leave a Reply

