I fail at social networking

I could blame it on being an only child. I could blame it on working at home. I could simply blame it on the love of the printed word.

I did some traveling last week and this week and ended up getting a little sidetracked. I went to the home office in Nashvegas and spent some time with my department, which was a cool thing. There are a few new faces and it was nice to be able to introduce myself and meet them. We did some team activities, I managed to get out to lunch with two of my favorite people on earth and Friday was supposed to land in LaGuardia around 9:00 p.m.

Mother Nature, as you’re well aware, is a capricious bitch. There was no flying into NYC on Friday night. Of course, this is not what I was told by the friendly recording I got from American Airlines after lunch. No, they just told me I was on a flight in the morning. At 6:00 in the morning. I prefer not to acknowledge there’s one of those, thank you very much.

So, bear in mind I did not know about the weather issues, and I called AA and got myself put on a Delta flight. When I got to the airport, Delta canceled THAT flight and put me on one leaving Saturday afternoon, but at least now I knew why.

After an hour in line (or on line as they say in NY), I was across the counter with a very surly young man who didn’t want to be there. He offered to send me to Hartford, via Atlanta. How I got from Hartford to Stamford (a 2.5 hour drive) was my own problem. I took the flight, threw away my mouthwash and ran my roller suitcase through security–and a BIG thank you to all those people who let me cut in line when my flight was leaving in fifteen minutes.

I got on the plane, and once I got settled in, there was still some time before takeoff. Did I tweet? No. Did I update Facebook? G+? Not there either. No, I turned on my Kindle and downloaded $25 worth of books because I hadn’t had to spend money on the checked baggage fee.

I really need to reach out to people more. Readers, writers, reviewers. Look for me on Twitter a little more, at least during the evening hours. Since the dayjob is still supporting me, it gets my full attention during the day.

I got into Hartford around midnight and checked into the airport hotel. My boyfriend (aka nexx) drove up that night, and we drove home the next day just long enough to pick up gaming supplies. And eat pancakes. If you’re ever in CT, touch base with me, I will get you fantabulous pancakes at Chip’s.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “I fail at social networking

  1. Mmmmm. Pancakes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

