Sunday! Sunday! Sunday!

Sunday, and occasionally Saturday are now my days for getting in touch with the rest of the world. I do a thorough read of Facebook, I catch up on all my Scrabble games, I share cat pictures and sometimes I blog.

My new job has been great so far. The people I have met so far are all dedicated to public health–some have degrees in it, which I didn’t know you could get. The current project I’m working on is installing iPads in physician offices. These iPads are locked down to show only links to the patient’s personal health record, the physician’s practice and various medical education sites like WebMD. I attended a setup this week at a small practice. And I mean small. When I was buzzed in, I thought the nice woman behind the desk was the receptionist. No, it was the doctor. That’s what I get for making assumptions.

The commute is nowhere near as torturous as I thought it was going to be. I have picked up on how to get a seat on the train to Grand Central without being squished in a middle seat. The subway I take into Long Island City is never so crowded I can’t find a seat and only takes about fifteen minutes. I missed the stop the first day, not realizing that both Queens Plaza AND Queensboro plaza are both five minutes from my building. I ended up in Woodside, but was able to get turned around and still get in early.

I’m getting a lot of reading done on the train, making me ever grateful for my Kindle. I just finished Goblin Quest by Jim C. Hines. Jim won a Hugo last year for “best fan writer.” I adore his stuff. Goblin Quest stands alone well, though there are a couple of sequels. It turns a few fantasy tropes on their ear. It’s a bog-standard D&D adventure, but it’s told from the point of view of a goblin prisoner. I get a lot of funny looks from my fellow passengers when I’m laughing out loud at some things I read.

I’m caught up on the Dr. Siri Paiborn books by Colin Cotteril. I think Cotteril is a very special kind of genius. He has his finger firmly on the pulse of the absurd, and yet can move you to tears in the same moment when he tangles you up on southeast Asian politics. I can definitely see where this is not for everyone, but I encourage you to give it a try.

Harlan Coben recently put out Six Years.  This is a thriller that is also a late-bloomer’s coming of age story where the protagonist–a college professor–nearly gets killed trying to find a lost love after she is widowed. Except the deceased was really married to someone else. Then it gets confusing.

I went through a steampunk stage for about a month. Gail Carriger, Pip Ballantine and Lilith Saintcrow. A whole lot of fun, because these all take place in London, so you have the Victorian class struggles and comedy of manners that you can get nowhere else.

When you read, please take time to leave a Like or a rating or a review. The more of those an author has, the more the online sites will recommend the book to other potential reader.

Happy Sunday, everyone. I think there’s an Italian brunch in my future.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

